Week 8: Final Project Preview

Last semester’s DigiTech projects:

As discussed in class, on the first video, it would have been really neat to see the kaleidoscope image larger in the background – or maybe even projected onto three screens if a larger projection wasn’t possible.  But I did see how the dance related to the kaleidoscope and enjoyed the video!

The second video was a good idea too.  I liked the hand-puppet idea.  But, one thing that looked “off” to me was the angle of the guy (like, if a light was really shining, it would not be hitting the frame — he seems too far off to the side for the angle to look real.)  I was also confused when there was text along with the shadow puppets, because he obviously didn’t create that with his hands!  But it was cool anyhow.

The third video had a really cool concept with the ghost.  I think it could have been executed a little cleaner (lining projections up), but it was still awesome.  I didn’t notice the mirror was not really a mirror (apparently it had posterboard over it so it could have a surface to project upon?) until I saw the projection.  So it had the illusion of a mirror with a ghost in it and was really successful.

____

I won’t comment on all the videos from a year ago, but I did enjoy the dancers with the projected feet the most, out of any of the videos listed on the blog.

____

I’m still unsure of what I’m going to do in my own final project.  I am nervous about topping last years, they were all very very good and creative!  I am great with technical stuff but lack a lot of originality/creativity when thinking up new ideas, so hopefully getting into a group will help me.

Leave a Reply

